Welcome to Marion County, the middle of everywhere.

Named after General Francis “Swamp Fox” Marion, Marion County is located two hours north of the state capital of Charleston and 30 minutes south of Morgantown. Spanning 312 square miles with a population of around 56,000, Marion County is comprised of 11 municipalities, including the county seat of Fairmont. For more on each of our municipalities, click here.

Marion County is located in Mountaineer Country (one of the nine tourism regions in the state) and includes Barbour, Doddridge, Harrison, Marion, Monongalia, Preston, and Taylor counties. 

Our CVB is an accredited member of the West Virginia Association of Convention & Visitor Bureaus (WVACVB), the Southeast Tourism Society (STS), the Marion County Chamber of Commerce, and the Pricketts Fort Memorial Foundation.

The Convention & Visitors Bureau of Marion County is committed to showcasing our region’s vibrant diversity, cultural richness, and natural beauty to visitors from near and far. We aim to promote Marion County as a premier destination for leisure, business, and special events, inspiring unforgettable experiences and fostering economic growth within our community.

With a focus on hospitality, innovation, and excellence, we strive to engage with visitors and residents alike, offering unparalleled customer service and comprehensive resources to enhance their exploration and enjoyment of Marion County. Through strategic marketing initiatives, collaborative partnerships, and community outreach, we aim to highlight our region’s unique attractions, recreational opportunities, and distinct flavors.

At the Convention & Visitors Bureau of Marion County, we promote and celebrate our heritage while embracing progress and evolution. We are passionate advocates for tourism as a catalyst for positive social and economic impact, driving sustainable development and prosperity for our stakeholders and residents.

By cultivating a welcoming and inclusive environment, we seek to inspire discovery, create lasting memories, and develop a sense of pride in Marion County as a dynamic and memorable destination for all who visit.

Stop by the Visitor Center, and our friendly staff will help you make the most of your trip to Fairmont, Marion County, and throughout the Mountain State. We can assist you with:

  • Lodging choices
  • Providing directions
  • Customizing itineraries and travel plans
  • Providing maps, brochures, and information on attractions and events

The Bureau observes the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving, Day after Thanksgiving, Christmas Eve, and the week between Christmas and New Year’s.

The Visitor Center will be closed to the public on Election Day.

Hours of operation: Monday through Friday, 8:30 am until 4:30 pm.

Leisha Elliott

Executive Director